Get your tickets now for our next home game on Saturday, February 18 vs. Georgia! BUY NOW

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
Vancouver
8
Toronto
19
WK
2
Sat, Dec 10
FINAL
Toronto
7
Rochester
11
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
FINAL
Buffalo
11
Toronto
8
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
FINAL
Toronto
15
New York
7
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
FINAL
Halifax
8
Toronto
17
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
FINAL
Toronto
14
Philadelphia
5
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
FINAL/OT
Toronto
11
Calgary
10
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
FINAL
New York
14
Toronto
22
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
19:30:00
Toronto
Georgia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:00:00
Georgia
Toronto
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
19:00:00
Rochester
Toronto
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:00:00
Albany
Toronto
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
18:00:00
Toronto
Halifax
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Toronto
Albany
WK
18
Sat, Apr 1
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
20:00:00
Toronto
Buffalo
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
News

Rock Win Opener

Toronto – A three-goal second quarter run put some distance between the Rock and the Edmonton Rush as Toronto opened the season with a 13-7 win.

Captain Colin Doyle scored the first goal of the game for Toronto, but Edmonton stayed right with Toronto in the early going.

Stephan Leblanc, Kasey Beirnes and Garrett Billings scored three straight goals breaking open a 5-5 tie in the second quarter.  Gavin Prout cashed in for the visiting Rush to draw Edmonton to within two goals at the half trailing 8-6.

Leblanc, who is in his sophomore NLL season, scored his third goal of the game to open the second half scoring.  Leblanc has scored in all 20 NLL games he has played which includes the post-season.

Toronto held a 10-6 lead after three quarters as the only other goal of the quarter was scored by Rock veteran Blaine Manning.  Bob Watson stopped all 13 Rush shots he faced in the quarter.

Watson continued his stingy goaltending throughout the fourth quarter as Edmonton was kept off the board until there was just 4:32 remaining in the final frame.

“He was seeing the ball real well,” Head coach Troy Cordingley said of Watson.  “We are real lucky to have him back.”

11,564 fans took this year’s Rock home opener at the Air Canada Centre.

“The crowd was good and lively,” said Cordingley.  “With more wins, more fans will come.”

Drew Petkoff scored in the late going for the Rock into an empty net.  The goal was the first of Petkoff’s NLL career after failing to score in 12 games during his rookie season of 2010.

Rookie Aaron Pascas also experienced a first as his first career NLL goal fell in the first quarter.

“It was really good to shake off nerves in the early going,” said Pascas.  “Nothing beats scoring on your first shift in front of your home fans.”

The Rock will travel to Rochester next weekend to face the Knighthawks on Saturday night at 7:30pm.  Saturday night’s game can be seen live on TSN2.

 

Toronto Rock