Single Game Tickets On Sale Now BUY NOW

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
5:00 pm ET
Warriors
Rock
WK
2
Sat, Dec 10
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Knighthawks
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
7:00 pm ET
Bandits
Rock
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
7:30 pm ET
Rock
Riptide
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
7:00 pm ET
Thunderbirds
Rock
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
9:00 pm ET
Rock
Roughnecks
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
7:00 pm ET
Riptide
Rock
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
7:30 pm ET
Rock
Swarm
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
7:00 pm ET
Swarm
Rock
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
7:00 pm ET
Knighthawks
Rock
Mon, Mar 6
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
7:00 pm ET
FireWolves
Rock
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
6:00 pm ET
Rock
Thunderbirds
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
7:00 pm ET
Rock
FireWolves
WK
18
Sat, Apr 1
7:00 pm ET
Bandits
Rock
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Rock
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
7:30 pm ET
Rock
Bandits
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
News

Matt Roik NLL Defensive Player Of The Week

Toronto – Today the National Lacrosse League announced their players of the week and Rock goaltender Matt Roik is the Defensive Player of the Week. The Weekly Awards are determined by a vote of the General Managers and Head Coaches of the league’s nine member clubs.

Roik has turned in solid performances in each of Toronto’s five games so far this season, but his 38-save effort in Saturday’s 15-6 win over Philadelphia certainly stands out as his best performance of the season.

The 32-year old goaltender stopped all 28 shots he faced in the second half and held Philadelphia scoreless for the final 31 minutes and 56 seconds overall.

Earlier this week, Rock defender Patrick Merrill had a clear message for everyone.  “Matt has been our MVP so far,” Merrill stated emphatically when speaking about Roik’s play to this point in the season.

Roik currently sits second overall among goals-against average leaders with a 10.70 GAA.  His .769 save percentage puts him in a tie with Calgary’s Mike Poulin for third best in the NLL.

A pair of Washington Stealth players captured awards as Rhys Duch is the Offensive Player of the Week and Paul Rabil is the Transition Player of the Week.  Rochester’s Johnny Powless has been recognized as the Rookie of the Week.

The Rock will have this weekend off before welcoming the Philadelphia Wings to Air Canada Centre on Saturday, February 18th.  Tickets are available by calling 416-596-3075 or by visiting www.torontorock.com.

 

Toronto Rock