Join us for Kidz Night on Saturday, February 4th vs. New York. Buy 1 Adult ticket, get 1 kids ticket FREE! BUY NOW

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
Vancouver
8
Toronto
19
WK
2
Sat, Dec 10
FINAL
Toronto
7
Rochester
11
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
FINAL
Buffalo
11
Toronto
8
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
FINAL
Toronto
15
New York
7
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
FINAL
Halifax
8
Toronto
17
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
FINAL
Toronto
14
Philadelphia
5
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
21:00:00
Toronto
Calgary
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
19:00:00
New York
Toronto
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
19:30:00
Toronto
Georgia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:00:00
Georgia
Toronto
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
19:00:00
Rochester
Toronto
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:00:00
Albany
Toronto
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
18:00:00
Toronto
Halifax
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Toronto
Albany
WK
18
Sat, Apr 1
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
20:00:00
Toronto
Buffalo
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
News

New Rock forward on quest for national championshi

VICTORIA – The Mann Cup is Canada’s most coveted lacrosse trophy, awarded annually to the top senior men’s squad in the country. Contested in hot, humid rinks in Ontario and British Columbia every September, the Cup is usually destined to be awarded to the host team.

But maybe not this year.

Mat Giles, who was recently acquired by the Rock in a trade with Rochester this summer, is leading the way for a Peterborough squad that could break the home-floor winning tradition. While the squad is down 3-2 heading into Game 6 in the best-of-seven series on Friday Sept. 16, they’ve given the host Victoria Shamrocks a scare along the way.

Giles has accounted for 11 points so far in the series, and has played well defensively for the Lakers, who defeated the Rock-laden Brampton Excelsiors in a seven-game OLA Major final series in late August for the right to represent Ontario at the Mann Cup.

“Mat brings us a big body on our right side who will create openings and opportunities for guys like Aaron Wilson, Blaine Manning and Matt Shearer,” coach / GM Terry Sanderson said of Giles, who he coached with the Ottawa Rebel, Montreal Express and Albany Attack. “He’s a big guy with decent touch around the net, and he’s a tough guy to check so he brings a lot to the table.”

Giles could play a variety of roles for the Rock and it’s his versatility that’s especially appealing to many NLL coaches and GMs.

Last year in Rochester, Giles tallied 10 goals and 13 assists (23 points) in 15 games. Throughout his seven-season career, he has 180 total points playing in Ottawa, Montreal, Columbus, Albany and Rochester. And Giles is just one goal away from the 100-goal milestone in his career.

For more information on the Mann Cup, please visit www.lacrosse.ca. For Mann Cup stats, please visit www.theboxrocks.com or www.rockslax.com.

Toronto Rock