Join us for Kidz Night on Saturday, February 4th vs. New York. Buy 1 Adult ticket, get 1 kids ticket FREE! BUY NOW

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
Vancouver
8
Toronto
19
WK
2
Sat, Dec 10
FINAL
Toronto
7
Rochester
11
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
FINAL
Buffalo
11
Toronto
8
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
FINAL
Toronto
15
New York
7
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
FINAL
Halifax
8
Toronto
17
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
FINAL
Toronto
14
Philadelphia
5
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
FINAL/OT
Toronto
11
Calgary
10
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
19:00:00
New York
Toronto
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
19:30:00
Toronto
Georgia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:00:00
Georgia
Toronto
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
19:00:00
Rochester
Toronto
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:00:00
Albany
Toronto
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
18:00:00
Toronto
Halifax
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Toronto
Albany
WK
18
Sat, Apr 1
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
20:00:00
Toronto
Buffalo
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
News

Bandits steal close one from Rock, 15-13, in exhib

HAGERSVILLE – The Toronto Rock received a balanced attack from their forwards despite a 15-13 loss in their final exhibition scrimmage game against the Buffalo Bandits Wednesday night at the Iroquois Lacrosse Arena.

Josh Sanderson led the Rock with two goals and four assists. Colin Doyle added a single and four helpers, while Rusty Kruger tallied a hattrick for Toronto.

Bandits forward Mark Steenhuis, a native of St. Catharines, Ont., led Buffalo with four goals and an assist, while Kim Squire and Delby Powless added two goals each.

The Rock played seven new players in the contest, including rookies Chet Koneczny, Matt Taylor and J.J. Dickie.

Sanderson opened the scoring for Toronto, which was sitting out veterans Jim Veltman and Phil Sanderson, before Buffalo stormed back with a powerplay and shorthanded goal to take momentum and eventually a 4-2 lead at the end of the first quarter. The teams traded goals in the second frame with Buffalo leading 7-6 at the half.

In the third quarter, both teams scored three times apiece with transition goals, including a late marker with the goalie pulled by Sanderson with 20 seconds left in the frame.

Toronto took a 12-11 lead in the fourth before Squire, Steenhuis and Powless rallied off three goals in under three minutes to give Buffalo the lead for good. Steenhuis scored an empty netter with 12 seconds remaining with Toronto pushing for the tying goal.

Rock forwards Aaron Wilson and Blaine Manning scored twice each, and Chris Driscoll and Jason Henhawk added three assists apiece.

Bob Watson played the entire game in net for the Rock, while Steve Dietrich, Ryan Avery and Mike Poulin split goalkeeping duties for the Bandits.

The Rock begins defence of the NLL Championship on Jan. 7 at 7 p.m. at the Air Canada Centre in a rematch of last year’s championship final against the Arizona Sting. For tickets, visit www.ticketmaster.ca or call (416) 872-5000.

Toronto Rock