Fan Choice Awards Voting Is Now Open! Vote Now

Scores / Schedule

Finalists Announced For Goaltender Of The Year

The National Lacrosse League has announced three finalists for the 2015 NLL Goaltender of the Year award. The Edmonton Rush’s Aaron Bold, Toronto Rock’s Brandon Miller and Rochester Knighthawks’ Matt Vinc were the top trio of vote recipients for best goalie play in the league this year.

Bold led the NLL in wins (12), goals against average (9.44) and career-high minutes played (1016:54) while finishing fourth in saves (565) and fifth in save percentage (.779). The 10-year veteran led the eventual 2015 NLL champion Rush to the top of the West Division with a 13-5 regular season record as the team allowed 177 goals, second-fewest in the league. Bold allowed nine or fewer goals in 10 games, including one game with three goals allowed, and had 14 games with 30-plus saves in 18 games played. The 30-year-old Victoria, B.C. native was a third-round (29th overall) pick in the 2005 NLL Draft.

Miller finished third in the league in save percentage (.792), fourth in wins (8) and goals against average (10.36) and was ninth in saves (431) and minutes played (654:10) as part of the Rock’s goaltending tandem. With an 8-2 record, the 15-year veteran helped backstop the East Division champions to a league-best 14-4 record during the regular season while allowing the third-fewest goals in the league (185). Miller made 40 or more saves in six of his 10 total appearances and 10 or fewer goals in five of his 10 decisions. The 36-year-old, a native of Orangeville, Ontario, was drafted in the ninth round (70th overall) of the 1999 NLL Draft.

Vinc, the two-time reigning Goaltender of the Year, ranked tied for first in save percentage (.803), second in goals against average (9.62) and saves (655), tied for second in wins (10) and third in career-high minutes played (1003:58). Vinc made 40-plus saves in seven games played and allowed 10 or fewer goals in 10 games including a league-record two goals allowed in one game. Under Vinc’s leadership, the Knighthawks allowed a league-low 173 goals en route to a 12-6 record. The 10-year NLL veteran is the only goalie in league history to win the Goaltender of the Year award four times (2010, 2011, 2013 & 2014). The 33-year-old St. Catharines, Ontario native, who played collegiately at Canisius College, was a first-round selection (6th overall) in the 2005 NLL Draft.

The 2015 NLL Season Awards are determined by a vote of the league’s Board of Governors, General Managers and Head Coaches at the end of the regular season. The winners will be announced at the NLL Season Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, Sept. 29 in Toronto, Ont.

Schedule of finalist announcement for the remaining NLL Season Awards:

Friday, June 19: Executive of the Year award finalists

Monday, June 22: Head Coach of the Year (The Les Bartley Award) award finalists
Tuesday, June 23: General Manager of the Year award finalists
Wednesday, June 24: Rookie of the Year award finalists
Thursday, June 25: Most Valuable Player award finalists
Monday, June 29: Teammate of the Year award finalists
Tuesday, June 30: Pinty’s Wingman of the Year award finalists
Monday, July 6: Media Person of the Year (The Tom Borrelli Award) winner
Tuesday, September 29: 2015 NLL Season Awards Ceremony

Toronto Rock