Get your tickets now for our next home game on Saturday, February 18 vs. Georgia! BUY NOW

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
Vancouver
8
Toronto
19
WK
2
Sat, Dec 10
FINAL
Toronto
7
Rochester
11
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
FINAL
Buffalo
11
Toronto
8
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
FINAL
Toronto
15
New York
7
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
FINAL
Halifax
8
Toronto
17
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
FINAL
Toronto
14
Philadelphia
5
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
FINAL/OT
Toronto
11
Calgary
10
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
FINAL
New York
14
Toronto
22
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
19:30:00
Toronto
Georgia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:00:00
Georgia
Toronto
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
19:00:00
Rochester
Toronto
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:00:00
Albany
Toronto
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
18:00:00
Toronto
Halifax
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Toronto
Albany
WK
18
Sat, Apr 1
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
20:00:00
Toronto
Buffalo
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
News

Movember Hits Close To Home For Damon Edwards

 

Father Battling Prostate Cancer

Oakville, ON – The annual Movember campaign raises awareness and funds to battle cancers that most commonly affect men, prostate and testicular cancer. Around the world men grow moustaches, some simple and some unique, all with a common cause in mind.

Rock veteran Damon Edwards has been a long time participant in the Movember campaign and personally has raised over $2,000 over the years. This year, his facial hair growth has taken on a new personal meaning.

“Just under a year ago, my father was diagnosed with prostate cancer,” said Edwards. “This year means a little more to me. Our family has always been tight knit, but this has brought us even closer together. Everyone has been there to support, whether it be friends or family. It’s been great to see everyone come together and our family really appreciates the support.”

Damon’s father Dwight is a former CFL wide receiver and kick returner who enjoyed an 11-year career that started and ended with the Toronto Argonauts. He currently sits fifth in CFL history with 247 career kickoff returns and sixth in total kickoff return yards at 5,384. He was also inducted into the Mississauga Sports Hall of Fame in 2000.

“Anything I can do to raise awareness for men’s cancers,” expressed Edwards, also mentioning that one in seven men will deal with prostate cancer. “If something I do while raising awareness saves someone’s life then I’ve achieved my goal. More people should be talking about cancer and we shouldn’t be ashamed at all.”

Presently, Dwight is on a six-week radiation cycle and Damon says he’s doing well.

“Some days are worse than others with fatigue and lack of appetite but he’s been so strong, rarely showing any weakness. You wouldn’t know he was sick to even look at him, he is a warrior and we’re going to beat this.”

Anyone wishing to support Damon’s Movember fundraising efforts can do so by visiting his ‘Mo Space’ by clicking here.

Toronto Rock