Get your tickets now for our next home game on Saturday, February 18 vs. Georgia! BUY NOW

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
Vancouver
8
Toronto
19
WK
2
Sat, Dec 10
FINAL
Toronto
7
Rochester
11
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
FINAL
Buffalo
11
Toronto
8
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
FINAL
Toronto
15
New York
7
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
FINAL
Halifax
8
Toronto
17
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
FINAL
Toronto
14
Philadelphia
5
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
FINAL/OT
Toronto
11
Calgary
10
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
FINAL
New York
14
Toronto
22
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
19:30:00
Toronto
Georgia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:00:00
Georgia
Toronto
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
19:00:00
Rochester
Toronto
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:00:00
Albany
Toronto
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
18:00:00
Toronto
Halifax
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Toronto
Albany
WK
18
Sat, Apr 1
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
20:00:00
Toronto
Buffalo
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
News

Rock Make Statement With 17-6 Win Over Rochester


February 27, 2016

ROCK MAKE STATEMENT WITH 17-6 WIN OVER ROCHESTER

Toronto Dominates Knighthawks From Start To Finish

Toronto, ON – Great goaltending, dynamic defence and superior scoring were the difference in the Toronto Rock’s (2-6) 17-6 win over the Rochester Knighthawks (3-4) on Saturday night at Air Canada Centre on Canadian Night in front of over 10,000 fans.

“As I’ve said before it’s a big hole and it would be nice to have a couple more wins on that side of the ledger, but that’s as consistent of a game as we’ve played,” said Rock Head Coach John Lovell. “That’s what we’ve been looking for, just a consistent effort.”

The Rock came out of the gate looking like world-beaters, building a 7-1 lead after the opening 15 minutes. Josh Sanderson scored a pair and seems to have been the spark the offence was looking for, as the forward group has been producing very well over the last three games with the veteran in the lineup.

Kasey Beirnes was doing his part as well, burying 4 goals before the half was over. Toronto’s lead at the half was 11-2 and they were showing no signs of slowing down. While the offence was a big story, so was the goaltending of Nick Rose in the Toronto net, making 29 saves on 31 shots on goal.

The offence cooled off a little in the third quarter, but Kasey Beirnes didn’t, adding his fifth goal of the game.   Toronto stretched their lead to 10 goals after three quarters, leading 13-3, heading for home.

The Rock offence got oiled up again in fourth quarter, scoring four more times en route to the win. Beirnes ‘rocked the six’ on his own with another tally, his sixth of the game, in the final quarter.

Rock goal scorers were Beirnes with a sock-trick (6 goals) and Hellyer, Leblanc and Sanderson each had hat-tricks. Singles came from Colin Doyle and Dan Lintner. Overall, the point parade was led by Hellyer who added 8 assists to his 3 goals for an 11-point game, his third 10-plus point game of the season.

“It’s not what I expected tonight to be honest,” explained Beirnes of his 6-goal performance. “I was struggling to hit the net this morning in shoot around but when luck is on your side, it’s amazing what happens.”

The Rock will enjoy another bye week before play a pair of games at home on March 11th against Calgary and March 13th against the Vancouver Stealth.

Toronto Rock Season Tickets, the Upper Bowl Season Pass, Flex Packs, Single Game Tickets and Group Tickets are also on sale now. For more information about Toronto Rock tickets, please contact our account executives at 416-596-3075 or visit www.torontorock.com.

Toronto Rock