Get your Playoff Tickets HERE: BUY NOW

Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule

2006 NLL Entry Draft in New York City on September

NEW YORK – The National Lacrosse League has announced that its 2006 Entry Draft will take place in New York City on Wednesday, Sept. 13 at 8 p.m. EST.

The Entry Draft, which will consist of six rounds, will be held at The Theater at Madison Square Garden. The Theater, located inside MSG, is the host site of the annual NBA Entry Draft and hosted the NFL Entry Draft for several seasons. NLL clubs will be drafting the best young lacrosse talent from US College and Canadian junior lacrosse programs.

The Rock’s first pick in the draft is the second pick in the second round (15th overall). Toronto has five picks in total.

The league, which has expanded from eleven to thirteen teams for the 2007 season, recently announced that a New York franchise would join the league next season. The New York team will play home games at Madison Square Garden. “With the world’s greatest lacrosse players coming to New York City this season, we decided it was the right time to host the draft here in New York, and at Madison Square Garden,” said NLL Commissioner Jim Jennings. “Fans will see the future stars of the game enter the league at our draft, and then return to play at MSG during the upcoming season.”

Fans are encouraged to attend the Entry Draft, which is free and open to the public. Fans wishing to attend will need to request tickets in advance. Please visit for more information on tickets.

The expansion New York franchise presently holds the first overall selection in the Entry Draft. By virtue of winning a coin flip against the expansion Chicago Shamrox in June, New York won the right to select first in their choice of the Entry or Expansion Drafts. New York chose to select first in the Entry Draft, and will do so unless they opt to trade the pick prior to the draft.

Order of Selection, 2006 Entry Draft
(as of August 8, 2006, subject to change):
1. New York
2. San Jose (from Chicago)
3. Buffalo (from Edmonton)
4. Philadelphia (from San Jose)
5. Philadelphia
6. Arizona (from Minnesota via Arizona via Buffalo)
7. Arizona (from Toronto via Calgary)
8. Philadelphia (from Arizona)
9. Calgary
10. Rochester
11. New York (from Portland via Minnesota)
12. Chicago (from Buffalo via Edmonton)
13. Colorado

14. Chicago
15. Toronto (from Edmonton)
16. San Jose
17. Calgary (from Philadelphia via Minnesota)
18. Buffalo (from Minnesota via San Jose)
19. Minnesota (from Toronto)
20. Rochester (from Arizona)
21. Portland (from Calgary via Philadelphia)
22. Rochester
23. Minnesota (from Portland via Calgary)
24. Buffalo
25. Colorado

26. New York
27. Chicago
28. Edmonton
29. Portland (from San Jose via Calgary)
30. Philadelphia
31. Minnesota
32. New York (from Toronto via Minnesota)
33. Arizona
34. Colorado (from Calgary via Arizona)
35. Toronto (from Rochester)
36. Portland
37. Buffalo
38. Rochester (from Colorado)

39. New York
40. Chicago
41. Calgary (from Edmonton)
42. San Jose
43. Philadelphia
44. Minnesota
45. Toronto
46. Edmonton (from Arizona)
47. Buffalo (from Calgary)
48. Rochester
49. Portland
50. Buffalo
51. Colorado

52. New York
53. Chicago
54. Edmonton
55. San Jose
56. Philadelphia
57. Minnesota
58. Toronto
59. Arizona
60. Calgary
61. Rochester
62. Portland
63. Buffalo
64. Colorado

65. New York
66. Chicago
67. Rochester (from Edmonton)
68. San Jose
69. Philadelphia
70. Minnesota
71. Philadelphia (from Toronto)
72. Arizona
73. Toronto (from Calgary)
74. Rochester
75. Rochester (from Portland)
76. Buffalo
77. Colorado
(End of Entry Draft)

Toronto Rock