Thank You Rock City!

Scores / Schedule


The National Lacrosse League announced last week that Toronto Rock head coach Troy Cordingley was among six finalists chosen for the NLL Hall of Fame Class of 2010 ballot. Former Rock forward Dan Stroup was also nominated.

“Lacrosse has been my life,” said Cordingley. “To be nominated for such an award is a tremendous honour.”

Cordingley played nine seasons in the league from 1993-2001 recording 312 points on 128 goals and 184 assists in the regular season and added 33 points on 15 goals and 18 assists in the post season. Primarily playing in Buffalo, he won two championships and was part of the ’93 Bandits team that completed the only perfect season in league history.

Prior to the 2003 season, Cordingley was named assistant coach in Buffalo, and got the promotion to head coach in 2008 with the Calgary Roughnecks where he won the Champion’s Cup in 2009.

In July 2009, the Rock announced the appointment of Cordingley as head coach. Now halfway through the season with his new team, Cordingley has led Toronto to their best ever record at 6-2.

Dan Stroup put his stamp on the NLL while playing a hugely important role on Toronto’s offense. Stroup won three championships with the Rock in 1999, 2000, 2002, and was named Champion’s Cup MVP in the 2000 championship game against the Rochester Knighthawks. Over his four years with the Rock Stroup played in 54 games, collected 191 points from 112 goals and 79 assists and scooped 310 loose balls.

The other nominees are Ted Dowling, Rich Kilgour, Curt Malawsky, and John Tucker.

The three nominees who receive the most votes will comprise the league’s Hall of Fame Class for 2010.  The votes will be cast by the League’s Board of Governors, current members of the Hall of Fame and senior members of the league’s covering media.  On the ballot, voters will be asked to cast votes for three of the six candidates.

Voting by the member clubs, media and current Hall of Fame members will take place over the next few days, with a planned announcement of the Class of 2010 on Monday, February 22nd.  

About the NLL Hall of Fame:
The National Lacrosse League Hall of Fame was established on June 16, 2005, and inducted its charter members in 2006.  The Hall of Fame currently has 13 members, and has also recognized two members of the media.  For more information on the Hall of Fame, please visit



Toronto Rock