Join us for Kidz Night on Saturday, February 4th vs. New York. Buy 1 Adult ticket, get 1 kids ticket FREE! BUY NOW

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
Vancouver
8
Toronto
19
WK
2
Sat, Dec 10
FINAL
Toronto
7
Rochester
11
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
FINAL
Buffalo
11
Toronto
8
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
FINAL
Toronto
15
New York
7
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
FINAL
Halifax
8
Toronto
17
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
FINAL
Toronto
14
Philadelphia
5
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
FINAL/OT
Toronto
11
Calgary
10
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
19:00:00
New York
Toronto
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
19:30:00
Toronto
Georgia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:00:00
Georgia
Toronto
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
19:00:00
Rochester
Toronto
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:00:00
Albany
Toronto
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
18:00:00
Toronto
Halifax
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Toronto
Albany
WK
18
Sat, Apr 1
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
20:00:00
Toronto
Buffalo
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
News

Damon Edwards Undergoes Knee Surgery

September 1, 2015

DAMON EDWARDS UNDERGOES KNEE SURGERY
Rock Defender Begins Long Road To Recovery

Oakville, ON – Toronto Rock defender Damon Edwards underwent successful knee surgery last Thursday to repair a torn anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) in his right knee, suffered while playing for the Oakville Rock of Ontario’s Major Series Lacrosse (MSL). 

The injury occurred in a game against the MSL’s Peterborough Lakers on July 16th at the Peterborough Memorial Centre.

“It was a 5-on-3 play, I took the ball in the crease, I was running down the floor and I saw two guys coming at me.  I made a move to my left and then I jumped to my right and when I planted on my right foot I felt my knee go out from under me and I knew it wasn’t good.  I knew what I was going to have to go through. I was trying to stay positive but I knew it was the same thing.  There was a little bit of pain, but mainly frustration,” explained Edwards.

This isn’t the first serious knee injury for Edwards as he tore the ACL in his left knee in his final year of Junior A lacrosse playing for the Orangeville Northmen in 2009.  Edwards continued to play on that injured knee and helped the Northmen to their 2nd consecutive Minto Cup Canadian Junior A Championship.

“I played in the first two Minto Cup final games,” said Edwards.  “Prior to game 3, I couldn’t walk and had to step aside.”  The Northmen went on to defeat the Brampton Excelsiors 2 games to 1, earning their second straight national Junior A title.

While his return date is uncertain, knowing the path to recovery from first hand experience will be an asset for the speedy veteran.

“I know the hard work I had to go through,” said Edwards.  “I know the road to recovery and I know exactly where I have to be at each step through the recovery process.  I’m going to come back stronger than I was before.”

The 27-year old Toronto, Ontario native mentioned his recovery from his previous ACL tear was approximately 6-7 months and he is targeting a similar timeline.  Should he be ready in that time frame, he could return to the Rock lineup as early as March or April.  He would undoubtedly provide a huge boost to the Rock down the stretch.

The Rock have a couple of players in addition to Edwards coming off significant surgeries including Scott Johnston (ACL) and Rob Hellyer (Shoulder).  However both Johnston and Hellyer are on course to be on the floor with the Rock at some point during training camp in December.

Toronto Rock