Get your Playoff Tickets HERE: BUY NOW

Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule


Toronto, ON – Buffalo’s John Tavares scored an overtime goal to lead the East Division to an 11-10 victory in the 2005 National Lacrosse League All-Star Game in front of 11,511 fans at Pengrowth Saddledome on Saturday afternoon. The East trailed 9-7 heading into the fourth quarter, but scored three straight goals to take a 10-9 lead. However, Dan Dawson scored with less then three minutes remaining to tie the game and force overtime. Calgary’s Tracey Kelusky was named MVP with one goal and three assists.
John Tavares finished with three goals and one assist, including the game-winner, which led all scorers. Arizona’s Dan Dawson (3g) led the West offense, while Calgary’s Tracey Kelusky (1g, 3a) was named MVP. Also scoring for the East was Toronto’s Colin Doyle (1g, 3a) and Blaine Manning (4a), as well as Buffalo’s Mark Steenhuis (1g, 2a). Arizona’s Peter Lough was playmaker for the West offense, recording four assists. 17 different players recorded at least one of the 21 goals scored in the game.

Arizona Sting forward Dan Dawson scored the first goal of the game, running off the bench and diving through the crease after catching a long pass from Pat Coyle. Seconds later, Jay Jalbert scored immediately off of the faceoff on a pass from Gary Rosyski. Tracey Kelusky finished the run, giving the West an early 3-0 lead with three goals only 27 seconds apart. John Tavares finally got the East on the board with 1:16 remaining in the quarter, cutting the score to 3-1.

John Grant scored the first goal of the second quarter after faking out his defender, but Gavin Prout gave the West a 4-2 lead only moments later. Tom Marechek and Colin Doyle scored two goals to tie the game, and Craig Conn shot a shorthanded rocket past West goaltender Anthony Cosmo to give the East a 5-4 lead, their first lead of the game. Gary Gait followed it up with a power-play marker to tie the game again, but Dan Teat scored with 22 seconds remaining to give the East a 6-5 lead heading into halftime.

Two defensemen scored consecutive goals to start the second half, with San Jose’s Jim Moss and Calgary’s Jesse Phillips giving the West a quick 7-6 lead. Dan Dawson scored his second goal on an assist from Jay Jalbert, but Mark Steenhuis answered right back for the East to cut the score to 8-7. Lewis Ratcliff scored for the West to make the score 9-7, finally beating goaltender Dallas Eliuk.

In the fourth quarter, John Tavares blasted the ball past Gee Nash to cut the lead to 9-8, and with the East goaltender pulled for the extra attacker, Jim Veltman tied the game at 9-9. Minnesota’s Ryan Cousins finished the 3-0 run to put the East up 10-9 on an assist from John Tavares with only 3:43 remaining. However, Dawson completed his hat-trick moments later to tie the game at 10-10.

Tavares’ goal came at 1:15 of the overtime, on assists from Blaine Manning and Steenhuis.

Rochester’s Pat O’Toole (24 saves, 5 GA) and Philadelphia’s Dallas Eliuk (22 saves, 5 GA) split time in goal for the East. Eliuk was credited with the win. San Jose’s Anthony Cosmo (18 saves, 6 GA) and Colorado’s Gee Nash (19 saves, 5 GA) played goal for the West.

The All-Star Game aired live on NBC today at 2pm Eastern. The game marked the first live broadcast of lacrosse on national U.S. network television. The game was also televised nationally in Canada on The Score, and internationally via CNBC International, CNBC Asia and on Armed Forces Network. A game box score is available at:

Toronto Rock