Get your tickets for the Holiday Bash against the Buffalo Bandits on Sat. Dec. 17! BUY NOW

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
Vancouver
8
Toronto
19
WK
2
Sat, Dec 10
19:00:00
Toronto
Rochester
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
19:30:00
Toronto
New York
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
19:00:00
Halifax
Toronto
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
21:00:00
Toronto
Calgary
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
19:00:00
New York
Toronto
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
19:30:00
Toronto
Georgia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:00:00
Georgia
Toronto
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
19:00:00
Rochester
Toronto
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:00:00
Albany
Toronto
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
18:00:00
Toronto
Halifax
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Toronto
Albany
WK
18
Sat, Apr 1
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
20:00:00
Toronto
Buffalo
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
News

Merrill, Shearer and Suddons Re-Sign

TORONTO – The Toronto Rock re-signed defenceman Derek Suddons to a two-year deal yesterday, while inking forward Matt Shearer and transition player and faceoff specialist Patrick Merrill to one-year contracts. As per club policy, other terms of the deals were not disclosed.

“Another few key parts of our team are back, so we’re happy with the progress we’ve made with signing guys back from last year’s team,” said team president Brad Watters.

Thirteen of the Rock’s 18 starting players are now returning from last year’s championship team, with more re-signings expected in the coming weeks.

Shearer finished last season with 38 points (17 goals and 21 assists) and was recently married this past summer. When he’s not playing lacrosse, Shearer, 31, is a sales rep for Under Armour Canada. He chose not to play in the summer league and is anxious to return to playing, beginning with training camp in November.

After battling a mid-season ailment, Merrill returned to top form and contributed down the stretch as the Rock’s top faceoff man and one of the team’s defensive specialists. He contributed with one goal and seven assists, along with 39 penalty minutes in 12 regular season games. The 26-year-old native of Montreal works as a sales rep for Xerox in Toronto. He played this summer with the OLA Major Series Lacrosse finalist Brampton Excelsiors.

Suddons, a gritty defender with good hands, played in the summer league with the Brooklin Redmen. An investment broker by day, Suddons, 27, finished last season with seven assists in 15 games. He was often assigned to the opposition’s top player to keep them in check and away from the front of the net. When necessary, Suddons can also play a physical and intimidating brand of lacrosse.

Toronto Rock