Join us for Kidz Night on Saturday, February 4th vs. New York. Buy 1 Adult ticket, get 1 kids ticket FREE! BUY NOW

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
Vancouver
8
Toronto
19
WK
2
Sat, Dec 10
FINAL
Toronto
7
Rochester
11
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
FINAL
Buffalo
11
Toronto
8
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
FINAL
Toronto
15
New York
7
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
FINAL
Halifax
8
Toronto
17
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
FINAL
Toronto
14
Philadelphia
5
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
FINAL/OT
Toronto
11
Calgary
10
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
19:00:00
New York
Toronto
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
19:30:00
Toronto
Georgia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:00:00
Georgia
Toronto
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
19:00:00
Rochester
Toronto
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:00:00
Albany
Toronto
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
18:00:00
Toronto
Halifax
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Toronto
Albany
WK
18
Sat, Apr 1
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
20:00:00
Toronto
Buffalo
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
News

Rock Doubled Up By Roughnecks 16-8

 

Game Slips Away From Rock In Second Half, Ending Winning Streak

Toronto, ON – The Calgary Roughnecks (2-5) defeated the Toronto Rock (4-3) by a score of 16-8 on Saturday night at Air Canada Centre. The loss ends the Rock’s four-game winning streak as they get set to embark on a two-game road swing over the next couple of weeks.

It was the tale of two halves, but young goaltender Christian Del Bianco stole the show for Calgary, limiting the Rock offence to just 8 goals on 55 shots. Even more impressive was the fact that he only allowed two goals in the second half and none over the final 17:10 of the game as Calgary finished the game on a 9-0 run after trailing in the third quarter.

Toronto held a lead at 8-7 with just over two minutes left in the third quarter, but the game turned with a couple of goals in the final minute of the third and the Rock were never able to get the offence going again and respond to the Calgary offensive onslaught.

“We just thought we were going to out there and was just going to happen,” said Rock Head Coach Matt Sawyer after the loss. “Tonight we got what we deserved and (Calgary) deserved that win. We weren’t willing to put in the effort to pay the price we needed to in order to be successful.”

The Rock played catch-up throughout the first quarter, but the score was tied 3-3 at the end of one. Toronto got out to a 5-3 lead early in the second quarter with goals just nine seconds apart from Adam Jones and Latrell Harris. For the most part, the Rock protected that lead for the quarter but only led 6-5 at the break at halftime.

Toronto scored twice in the third quarter with a pair of Calgary goals in between to lead 8-7 late in the third quarter. However, from there it was all Calgary, finishing the game with nine straight tallies to seal the win.

Rock goals came from Rob Hellyer with three while Jones, Harris, Tom Schreiber, Brett Hickey and Challen Rogers all scored once. The eight goals was a season low for the Rock who averaged 20.5 goals for per game during their win streak.

The Rock travel to Rochester to take on the Knighthawks next Saturday night at Blue Cross Arena. The game is an 8 p.m. start and will be streamed live on NLLTV.com.

For more information on Toronto Rock tickets, please visit torontorock.com/tickets or call 416-596-3075.

Toronto Rock