Buy your 2022-23 Season Membership now! MORE INFO

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
5:00 pm ET
Warriors
Rock
WK
2
Sat, Dec 10
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Knighthawks
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
7:00 pm ET
Bandits
Rock
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
7:30 pm ET
Rock
Riptide
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
7:00 pm ET
Thunderbirds
Rock
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
9:00 pm ET
Rock
Roughnecks
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
7:00 pm ET
Riptide
Rock
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
7:30 pm ET
Rock
Swarm
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
7:00 pm ET
Swarm
Rock
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
7:00 pm ET
Knighthawks
Rock
Mon, Mar 6
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
7:00 pm ET
FireWolves
Rock
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
6:00 pm ET
Rock
Thunderbirds
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
7:00 pm ET
Rock
FireWolves
WK
18
Sat, Apr 1
7:00 pm ET
Bandits
Rock
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Rock
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
7:30 pm ET
Rock
Bandits
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
News

Rock Drop Opener

Toronto – The Toronto Rock stormed out of the gate and built a 5-0 lead in the early going, but only managed four more goals as they fell 12-9 to the Calgary Roughnecks on Sunday evening at Air Canada Centre.

Garrett Billings got things started for the Rock just 2:24 into the opening quarter and Matt Roik stopped all 9 Calgary shots he faced holding the Roughnecks scoreless through 15 minutes.

Calgary outscored Toronto 3-1 in the second quarter as they chipped away at the Rock’s early lead.  Mike Carnegie scored shorthanded with just over two minutes remaining in the opening half to draw Calgary to within three trailing 6-3 at the half.

The visitors would take their first lead of the game when Shawn Evans scored his second of the game to put the Roughnecks ahead 7-6.  Toronto answered back with a pair including a goal by Phil Sanderson, his first since 2009 when he was a Buffalo Bandit, giving Toronto an 8-7 lead.  Last year’s rookie sensation Curtis Dickson scored his first of the season to once again tie the game, 8-8 after three quarters.

Scott Ranger scored a pair of goals to kick-start the Calgary offence in the fourth quarter and stake them to a 10-8 lead.  Dan Carey made it a one goal game, but Calgary answered back with two more goals, including an empty net goal that was awarded after Toronto took a penalty on a Calgary scoring chance on the empty cage, making the final 12-9 Roughnecks.

Prior to the game, the Rock raised their sixth NLL Championship banner to the rafters with NLL Hall of Famer Bob Watson assisting the process..

The Rock will regroup before heading to Buffalo to take on the Bandits in their home opener next Saturday night at First Niagara Center.  The game can be seen live on TSN.  Toronto returns home on Friday, January 27th when they host the Rochester Knighthawks.

 

 

Toronto Rock