Thank You Rock City!

Scores / Schedule

Rock Sign Patrick Merrill, Release Six

Toronto Releases Six Players, Sign Patrick Merrill To 1-Year Contract

Oakville, ON – Toronto Rock Owner, President and General Manager Jamie Dawick announced several roster moves ahead of the December 19th NLL roster submission deadline. The Rock will have to trim down to twenty players on the active roster and a maximum of four players on the practice roster.

The Rock have released 2016 draft picks Jackson Hulbert and Jamie McMahon as well as Matt Crough and Zach Higgins who were brought to camp as free agents. Luc Magnan and Kyle Aquin both spent time with the Rock last season after being selected in the 2015 NLL draft, however were both released.

Veteran defender Patrick Merrill has signed a one-year agreement, pending league approval, but will begin the season on the Injured Reserve List as he continues to recover from knee surgery that prematurely ended his 2016 season. Also still on the mend and beginning the year on IR are Rob Hellyer and Brock Sorensen. Hellyer’s recovery from a torn ACL is on schedule, however he is still expected to miss the entire 2017 regular season. Sorensen is progressing well and there are hopes he’ll be back by the halfway point of the schedule. He is also recovering from a torn ACL.

The pre-season will wrap up on Saturday night at 6 p.m. when the Rock hosts the Buffalo Bandits at the Toronto Rock Athletic Centre. There is no charge for admission, however fans are asked to bring a new, unwrapped toy in support of the Oakville Professional Firefighters Association annual toy drive.

Toronto Rock Single Game Tickets and Season Tickets are on sale now. For more information about Toronto Rock tickets, please call 416-596-3075 or visit



Toronto Rock