Join us for Kidz Night on Saturday, February 4th vs. New York. Buy 1 Adult ticket, get 1 kids ticket FREE! BUY NOW

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
Vancouver
8
Toronto
19
WK
2
Sat, Dec 10
FINAL
Toronto
7
Rochester
11
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
FINAL
Buffalo
11
Toronto
8
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
FINAL
Toronto
15
New York
7
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
FINAL
Halifax
8
Toronto
17
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
FINAL
Toronto
14
Philadelphia
5
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
21:00:00
Toronto
Calgary
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
19:00:00
New York
Toronto
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
19:30:00
Toronto
Georgia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:00:00
Georgia
Toronto
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
19:00:00
Rochester
Toronto
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:00:00
Albany
Toronto
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
18:00:00
Toronto
Halifax
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Toronto
Albany
WK
18
Sat, Apr 1
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
20:00:00
Toronto
Buffalo
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
News

Search for new head coach, director of player pers

TORONTO – The Toronto Rock Lacrosse Club announced today that Terry Sanderson has been terminated from the position of head coach and general manager with the organization.

The decision comes after Sanderson joined the Rock in 2004, making the playoffs all three seasons and winning the NLL Champion’s Cup in 2005 with a 19-13 win over the Arizona Sting.

“Terry has done exactly what we asked of him. He won a championship in 2005 and developed the talent within our organization, despite losing some key players to retirement and free agency,” said Rock President Brad Watters. “We’re going to take our lacrosse operations in a different direction, and we’ll begin rebuilding immediately starting with the search for a new head coach and director of player personnel.”

Sanderson, 53, took over as head coach for the Rock midway through the 2004 season, after which the previously 2-4 Rock went on an eight-game winning streak. The Rock ended that season with a 10-6 record before losing to Buffalo in the East Division Final.

“We wish Terry the best of luck in his lacrosse future lacrosse,” said Watters. “He’s widely respected in the lacrosse community and has done great things to help develop the sport in Canada.”

“His work with the Rock made our organization stronger. I thank him for his dedication and loyalty to the team.”

He has over 30 years experience playing, coaching and managing in lacrosse. He spent the early part of his career as a player in both the Ontario Lacrosse Association and the now-defunct Major Indoor Lacrosse League for Syracuse and Quebec City.

Sanderson has coached at a variety of levels. He has held the position of head coach with several OLA teams including the Niagara Falls Gamblers (Major), Brampton Excelsiors (Major) and the Orangeville Jr. A Northmen.

The native of Windsor, N.S., has also coached professional lacrosse for National Lacrosse League teams including the Rock, Ottawa Rebel, Montreal Express, Albany Attack and Buffalo Bandits.

Terry lives in Orangeville, Ont., with his wife Susan where he operates Sanderson Source for Sports. Son Josh, who also plays for the Rock, also lives in Orangeville with his wife Lindsay and grandchildren Cameron and Ashley Jade. He also has a daughter, Karri.

Sanderson’s Coaching Record with the Rock (includes regular and post season)

Yr. Team W L FINISHED

2006 Toronto 8 9 3rd in East, lost to Rochester in East semi-final

2005 Toronto 14 4 1st in East and NLL, won Champion’s Cup

2004 Toronto 8 3 1st in East, lost to Buffalo in East final

TOTAL 30 16

Toronto Rock