Join us for Kidz Night on Saturday, February 4th vs. New York. Buy 1 Adult ticket, get 1 kids ticket FREE! BUY NOW

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
Vancouver
8
Toronto
19
WK
2
Sat, Dec 10
FINAL
Toronto
7
Rochester
11
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
FINAL
Buffalo
11
Toronto
8
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
FINAL
Toronto
15
New York
7
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
FINAL
Halifax
8
Toronto
17
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
FINAL
Toronto
14
Philadelphia
5
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
FINAL/OT
Toronto
11
Calgary
10
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
19:00:00
New York
Toronto
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
19:30:00
Toronto
Georgia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:00:00
Georgia
Toronto
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
19:00:00
Rochester
Toronto
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:00:00
Albany
Toronto
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
18:00:00
Toronto
Halifax
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Toronto
Albany
WK
18
Sat, Apr 1
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
20:00:00
Toronto
Buffalo
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
News

Jr. Rock Teams Finish Runners-Up

August 30, 2015

JR. ROCK TEAMS FINISH RUNNERS-UP IN PEEWEE AND MIDGET
Jr. Knighthawks Sweep All Three Jr. NLL Champion’s Cup Finals

Oakville, ON – Championship Sunday wrapped up the 3-day 3rd Annual Jr. NLL Tournament with the Jr. Knighthawks defeating the Jr. Rock in both the Midget and Peewee Jr. NLL Champion’s Cup Finals. 

The Midget championship game came right down to the wire with a 10-minute sudden death overtime period being needed after 40 minutes of regulation play solved nothing. 

The Jr. Rock opened the extra session on a brief power play but were unable to seal the victory.  After a Jr. Knighthawks forced turnover, Gavin Skye ran the length of the floor and scored the Midget championship winning goal at the 2:31 mark of the extra period for the Jr. Knighthawks.  Skye was also named the Midget MVP, winning the Tucker Williams Award.

In the Peewee Jr. NLL Champion’s Cup Final, the Jr. Knighthawks stormed out of the gate and never looked back.  The Jr. Knighthawks led 6-1 and the half and continued to keep the foot on the gas pedal on the way to the 12-3 win.

The Bantam Jr. Knighthawks also claimed that division’s Champion’s Cup with an 11-10 overtime victory over the Jr. Mammoth.  Last night, the Jr. Rock Bantams captured bronze with an 8-3 win over the Jr. Stealth.

The Jr. Rock teams were comprised of players selected from 2014-15 Rock Elite League teams.  A brand new season of the Rock Elite League gets underway in September.  You can register now at rockeliteleague.com.

Several players and staff from the NLL’s Toronto Rock made up the coaching staffs across the Jr. Rock Peewee, Bantam and Midget teams.  On the Peewee bench were Nick Rose, Josh Sanderson and Brett Hickey.  Patrolling the Bantam bench were Rock Owner, President and GM Jamie Dawick along with strength and conditioning coach Sean Holmes.  Rock goaltending coach Pat Campbell and Stephan Leblanc shared the coaching duties with the Midget Jr. Rock.

The sons of several current and former Rock players also suited up for the Jr. Rock at various age levels including Dylan Watson (Bob Watson), Taggart Clark (Glenn Clark), Cameron Sanderson (Josh Sanderson) and Marchel Woods (Cam Woods).  Additionally, Rock Owner, President and GM Jamie Dawick’s sons Luke and Jake also played in their respective age groups.

A full statistical recap of the tournament can be found here.

Toronto Rock