Get your tickets for the Holiday Bash against the Buffalo Bandits on Sat. Dec. 17! BUY NOW

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
Vancouver
8
Toronto
19
WK
2
Sat, Dec 10
19:00:00
Toronto
Rochester
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
19:30:00
Toronto
New York
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
19:00:00
Halifax
Toronto
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
21:00:00
Toronto
Calgary
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
19:00:00
New York
Toronto
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
19:30:00
Toronto
Georgia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:00:00
Georgia
Toronto
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
19:00:00
Rochester
Toronto
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:00:00
Albany
Toronto
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
18:00:00
Toronto
Halifax
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Toronto
Albany
WK
18
Sat, Apr 1
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
20:00:00
Toronto
Buffalo
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
News

Rock Dominate Rush 14-8

Photo Credit: Scott Grant

December 5, 2015

ROCK DOMINATE RUSH IN PRE-SEASON WIN IN OTTAWA

Toronto Downs Saskatchewan

Ottawa, ON – The Toronto Rock got a very small measure of revenge and at the very least got off on the right foot as the red-hot shooting of Brett Hickey led the Rock to a 14-8 victory over the Saskatchewan Rush in front of over an energetic crowd at the Arena at TD Place in Ottawa, Ontario on Saturday night.

These two teams met in last year’s Champion’s Cup final series, won by the Rush two games to none, while the team was still playing out of Edmonton, Alberta.

The Rock got out to an early 3-0 lead before the Saskatchewan Rush got on the board.  Jordan Robertson had a pair of those goals including one shorthanded.  Toronto led 4-1 after one quarter.

Hickey started to heat up in the second quarter, completing his hat-trick and pacing the Rock a 7-3 lead at the halftime break.  Hickey’s best was a crease dive where he reached out and extended beyond Rush goalie Aaron Bold to bring the crowd to their feet.

The 50-goal man Hickey wasn’t done there, his fourth and fifth sandwiched Robertson’s third goal of the game to push the Rock ahead 10-3 early in the second half.  Stephan Leblanc, who subbed in for Colin Doyle for the second half, scored his first of the pre-season to make it 11-3 for the Rock.  The Rush scored a pair, but those were quickly answered by Dan Lintner’s second and Turner Evans’ first, restoring the Rock’s eight-goal lead which stood at 13-5 after three quarters.

The Rush scored the first three goals of the fourth quarter to make it a 13-8 game, but Patrick Merrill sank an empty netter to make the final 14-8.

Nick Rose played the first half for the Rock, allowing just 3 goals on 23 shots.  Brandon Miller got in 30 minutes of work in the second half and gave up five goals on 30 shots.  Aaron Bold played the first half and Tyler Carlson played the final half for Saskatchewan.

Rock goal scorers were Hickey (5), Robertson (3), Lintner (2), Dan Keane (1), Evans (1), Leblanc (1), Merrill (1).

The Rock will resume training camp on Tuesday evening at the Toronto Rock Athletic Centre (TRAC) in Oakville.  Next Saturday night at the TRAC at 7pm, the Rock will host the Colorado Mammoth as the NLL pre-season continues.

Toronto Rock Season Tickets, the Upper Bowl Season Pass, Flex Packs, Single Game Tickets and Group Tickets are also on sale now.  For more information about Toronto Rock tickets, please contact our account executives at 416-596-3075 or visit www.torontorock.com.

 

 

Toronto Rock